Six Weeks in Europe on a Student Budget

RoomService

Dinner is now being served.
BGOL Investor
Six Weeks in Europe on a Student Budget — Reader Success Story
by The Points Guy
Today I want to share a story from TPG reader Drake, who used Ultimate Rewards points to cover a variety of inexpensive flights, hotel stays and more. Here’s what he had to say:

This past summer I graduated from business school in Barcelona. To celebrate, I set out on a six-week European adventure to see as many places as possible, for as cheap as possible. I had earned 50,000-point bonuses from both the Chase Sapphire Preferred Cardand the Chase Sapphire Reserve Card, and I used those points to book flights, hotels and more through the Chase Travel Portal.

I pooled the roughly 100,000 points into my Sapphire Reserve account so I could redeem them all at the higher rate of 1.5 cents per point. Thanks to the low-cost carriers and hostels offered by the Chase portal, that was enough to cover three flights, twelve hotel nights, four days of sightseeing passes (in London and Iceland), and an airport transfer in Paris. I also transferred points to British Airways to book two more flights, and I used the $300 Sapphire Reserve travel credit to cover eight more nights at hostels.

Altogether, those points took me to Lisbon, Paris, London, Prague, Minsk, Vilnius, Riga, Tallinn, Stockholm and Reykjavik. With cheap hostels for the remaining nights and inexpensive bus transfers for other transportation, I didn’t spend much at all on the rest of my trip. I also used my Priority Pass lounge access to help keep meal costs down at the various airports. Just goes to show that a ten-country adventure is in reach for those who are still in school (or recently graduated)!